The Man Who Talks to Dogs

The Story of America's Wild Street Dogs and Their Unlikely Savior

The Man Who Talks to Dogs

Author: Melinda Roth

Publisher: Macmillan

ISBN: 1466822937

Page: 256

View: 783

Go to any unpopulated or abandoned area in any given urban setting, and you'll find them. Thousands and thousands of wild dogs-abandoned to disease, starvation, and inevitable death-are leading short and brutal lives in the no-man's-land between domestication and wildness, byproducts of the human destitution around them. A lucky few are saved by dedicated rescuers, and Randy Grim, has emerged as one of the country's leading dog saviors. After years of rescuing dogs on his own, he founded Stray Rescue of St. Louis, an organization dedicated to rescue and rehabilitation. These are dogs that belong to no one, the ones animal-control experts can't catch and humane shelters won't deal with. They are stray or feral, either abandoned or born wild on the streets, which means they won't come near humans and statistically won't live past their second year. And their numbers are growing every day. In The Man Who Talks to Dogs, journalist Melinda Roth narrates Grim's dramatic, inspiring efforts and tells the horrific and heartwarming stories of the dogs he saves, showing how this growing national health problem-controlled by no federal or local regulations-can no longer be ignored.
Categories: Pets

Metaphor in the Hebrew Bible

Metaphor in the Hebrew Bible

Author: Pierre van Hecke,Pierre Hecke

Publisher: Peeters Publishers

ISBN: 9789042916401

Page: 308

View: 3057

The Hebrew Bible abounds in metaphors and other figurative speech. The present volume collects fifteen essays on this fascinating aspect of biblical language, written by specialists in the field. Attention is paid both to the recent methodological developments in the study of metaphor and to the importance of metaphor studies for the interpretation of biblical texts.
Categories: Language Arts & Disciplines

The Whistling Hunters

Field Studies of the Asiatic Wild Dog (Cuon Alpinus)

The Whistling Hunters

Author: Michael W. Fox

Publisher: SUNY Press

ISBN: 9780873958424

Page: 150

View: 4378

The whistling dog, or dhole, of India is a little-known, distant cousin of our domestic dog. Highly intelligent, wary of man, and elusive as a jungle predator, this rare and beautiful creature is one of the most difficult animals to study. Its very nature defies the patience and skill of the most dedicated naturalist. Yet knowledge about its habits and a more widespread understanding and appreciation of this species are essential for its protection and continued survival. For, like so much of the world's wildlife today, the dhole is a species threatened with extinction. The first in-depth field study of the whistling dog, The Whistling Hunters examines the dhole in the animal's environment. The book is based on the author's field studies and the observations of other naturalists. It presents all the facts currently known about the species, as it makes a passionate plea for conservation and the reevaluation of our land-use patterns. The book is also an attempt to understand the essence of wilderness since it, too, like the whistling dog, is an endangered species.
Categories: Science

Dogs of the Drowned City #2: The Pack

Dogs of the Drowned City #2: The Pack

Author: Dayna Lorentz

Publisher: Scholastic Inc.

ISBN: 0545388082

Page: 240

View: 5617

Fans of WARRIORS and WOLVES OF THE BEYOND have a new animal adventure series to sink their teeth into! The thrilling DOGS OF THE DROWNED CITY trilogy continues! Shep the German shepherd doesn't know why his family has left him alone, nor does he understand the terrible, shrieking storm that has torn apart his city. He just knows that the new dogs he's met are his best chance at survival -- especially now that they've made enemies of the wild dogs in the city. Can Shep keep his new friends safe until his family -- maybe -- returns?
Categories: Juvenile Fiction

Wild Dog Dreaming

Love and Extinction

Wild Dog Dreaming

Author: Deborah Bird Rose

Publisher: University of Virginia Press

ISBN: 081393107X

Page: 184

View: 2188

We are living in the midst of the Earth’s sixth great extinction event, the first one caused by a single species: our own. In Wild Dog Dreaming, Deborah Bird Rose explores what constitutes an ethical relationship with nonhuman others in this era of loss. She asks, Who are we, as a species? How do we fit into the Earth’s systems? Amidst so much change, how do we find our way into new stories to guide us? Rose explores these questions in the form of a dialogue between science and the humanities. Drawing on her conversations with Aboriginal people, for whom questions of extinction are up-close and very personal, Rose develops a mode of exposition that is dialogical, philosophical, and open-ended. An inspiration for Rose—and a touchstone throughout her book—is the endangered dingo of Australia. The dingo is not the first animal to face extinction, but its story is particularly disturbing because the threat to its future is being actively engineered by humans. The brazenness with which the dingo is being wiped out sheds valuable, and chilling, light on the likely fate of countless other animal and plant species. "People save what they love," observed Michael Soulé, the great conservation biologist. We must ask whether we, as humans, are capable of loving—and therefore capable of caring for—the animals and plants that are disappearing in a cascade of extinctions. Wild Dog Dreaming engages this question, and the result is a bold account of the entangled ethics of love, contingency, and desire.
Categories: Nature

Wild Dog Caribbean

A Novel

Wild Dog Caribbean

Author: David J. Mumford

Publisher: iUniverse

ISBN: 1491744340

Page: 366

View: 8835

It is early September 1973 and the archipelago of the Bahamas has just received its independence from England. After kicking the British out of the country and realizing the result is an overwhelming shortage of teachers, the Bahamian Ministry of Education turns to North America for help, sending advertisements for qualified teachers as far north as Northern Canada. Buster Murdock, an adventurous, peace-loving young man fresh from graduate school, takes the bait. While lured to the magnetism of living in the Caribbean and its turquoise waters, Buster is also attracted to the idea of a quiet, peaceful island paradise—a desire not unknown to many men from all walks of life. But as soon as his plane lands in Nassau, Buster’s dreams are quickly shattered by reality. While attempting to fit into the Bahamian culture and way of life, Buster must gain the respect of his pre-teen students, make friends with other teachers, and battle his way through loneliness. But when he finds what he hopes is love, Buster soon learns that life is unpredictable at best. Wild Dog Caribbean is the colorful tale of a restless American teacher who must survive outside the spheres of his old, accustomed environment and find a new normal while living and working amid an ever-changing 1970s Bahamian culture.
Categories: Fiction

Stories of the Wild West Gang: Book 4

Stories of the Wild West Gang: Book 4

Author: Joy Cowley

Publisher: Gecko Press

ISBN: 1877579769

Page: 72

View: 2140

The Wild West Gang and the Haunted Fridge, The Wild West Gang at the Wedding. Michael's cousins, the West family, are everything he's not allowed to be at home - noisy, crazy and very, very messy. Wherever the Wild West Gang goes, adventure is not far behind - and it's the sort of adventure you don't want your parents to know about.
Categories: Juvenile Fiction