The Qalupalik

The Qalupalik

Author: Elisha Kilabuk

Publisher: Inhabit Media Incorporated

ISBN: 9781926569314

Page: 32

View: 6340

Retells the Inuit story about an odd creature with fishlike skin that lives under the sea ice.
Categories: Fiction

Putuguq and Kublu and the Qalupalik

Putuguq and Kublu and the Qalupalik

Author: Roselynn Akulukjuk,Danny Christopher

Publisher: Putuguq & Kublu

ISBN: 9781772272284

Page: 32

View: 8096

Putuguq and Kublu are up to some new tricks and a fun new adventure!
Categories: Juvenile Fiction

The Curse of the Ice Serpent

The Curse of the Ice Serpent

Author: Jon Mayhew

Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing

ISBN: 1408854244

Page: 304

View: 6783

A new and dangerous mission awaits in the fantastic Monster Odyssey series, where our hero Dakkar must defeat a clan of evil brothers intent on ruling the world, whilst battling terrifying monsters. Inspired by Jules Verne's Twenty Thousand Leagues Under the Sea, Dakkar is a young Captain Nemo and these books are the most thrilling of adventures. Having stopped two of the six evil Oginski brothers, Dakkar now faces double danger from the Oginski twins – possibly the most cunning and devious of the brothers yet. Set in the icy wastes of Greenland, Dakkar must battle giant bears, vicious arctic sharks and a sabretooth tiger as he hunts for the fabled Thermolith, a source of great heat energy which the Oginskis also seek, in order to complete their preparations for a new world order with themselves at the helm. An action-packed adventure with hot-air balloon combat and a dramatic race across the arctic. Perfect for fans of Percy Jackson, Indiana Jones and monsters! Readers ready to move on from Beast Quest will love this!
Categories: Juvenile Fiction

Around the World in 366 Tales - February Frights

Around the World in 366 Tales - February Frights

Author: Steve Wilson

Publisher: Lulu.com

ISBN: 024497845X

Page: 184

View: 911

Ten-year-old Sadie Meadows is reading in bed on New Years Eve when she notices an unopened Christmas present amongst the pile beneath her window. She tears the wrapping paper off to find it contains a book called The World from Your Bedroom - There and Back Again, but when she opens it up and begins to read, she is disappointed to see it is nothing more than a travel book packed with pages detailing hundreds of places across the world.She reads the first page, then puts the book down just as sleep claims her at the instant that the New Year arrives. She awakes to find that, instead of being in her bedroom at home in Skipton, somehow she has been transported to Ireland, the location that she had just read about in the book.There follow a series of adventures, each set in a different location, as Sadie finds herself travelling across the globe as she attempts to get back home again. This months journeys take her to the USA as she works her way state-through-state across the country.
Categories: Fiction

Ragnarok: The Vanir

Ragnarok: The Vanir

Author: Tim Korklewski

Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing

ISBN: 1472832868

Page: 160

View: 857

The Aesir are dead, and the Vanir, now uncontested in their divinity, come to claim what is left of the Nine Realms. The war clans must oppose, or align with, these new foes. Ragnarok: The Vanir features new Godsparks that war clans may harness to combat the marauding Vanir, as well as new scenarios, monsters, and options to further develop players' campaigns.
Categories: Games & Activities

Trolls

Trolls

Author: Alicia Z. Klepeis

Publisher: Cavendish Square Publishing, LLC

ISBN: 1502618591

Page: 64

View: 9681

For centuries, the myths of trolls have fascinated and frightened people young and old. Originating in the time of the Vikings, trolls have been constant figures of mythology since the very first troll story. Their lore has evolved and developed over time, but their representations, especially across Scandinavian culture, have lasted to the present day. This book explains the history of troll lore throughout the ages, examines other troll folktales from around the world, and even explores how the troll persists in today’s society.
Categories: Juvenile Nonfiction

Childrearing Practices

Childrearing Practices

Author: Naqi Ekho,Uqsuralik Ottokie,Nunavut Arctic College. Language and Culture Program

Publisher: Iqaluit : Nunavut Arctic College, Language and Culture Program

ISBN: N.A

Page: 139

View: 3553

Each society lives on through its children. Children have to responsible adults, who can take care of themselves as well as their relatives. In this book, Inuit childrearing practices are described by two elders - Naqi Ekho and Uqsuralik Ottokie from the South Baffin Island region. Childrearing practices are rapidly changing in the communities of Nunavut yet many features of traditional childrearing can still be observed such as women carrying their babies in the amauti. Topics covered in this book range from pregnancy to naming to nutrition to games.
Categories: Child rearing

Folk

Folk

Author: Johannes Nicolaisen,Jens Yde

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Page: N.A

View: 2698

Categories: Ethnology

Perspectives on Traditional Health

Perspectives on Traditional Health

Author: Ilisapi Uhttuvak,Nunavut Arctic College. Language and Culture Program

Publisher: Iqaluit, Nunavut : Language and Culture Program, Nunavut Arctic College

ISBN: N.A

Page: 328

View: 6663

The final volume in this series examines traditional Inuit health practices and beliefs as remembered by both North and South Baffin elders: from treatments for fractures to methods of diagnosis and attitudes towards the injured or ill. Though many practices are described in detail in this book, most of the elders' testimonies are of a more general nature, the main concern being life and consciousness in all their dimensions.
Categories: Inuit